Thunder Up PG

Let me just get this out of the way.

I AM SO FUCKING EXCITED RIGHT NOW!

Ok, now that we’re all on the same page let’s move on.

As you may have realized by now, I am an OKC Thunder fan (being from Oklahoma and all), and this move is what I have been hoping for for months. It was the long shot deal. Why would a player like Paul George want to come to OKC of all places? To have a shot at playing for a championship is the answer to that.

This guy is such a good fit for the Thunder in so many ways it’s hard to list them all out right now, so let’s just stay with a few big ones. PG is a great 3-pt shooter. The Thunder, not a great 3-pt shooting team. PG will bring an immediate improvement to the outside threat for OKC. George is also a pretty damn good defender. Finishing in the top 10 in steals 4 times, defensive win shares 3 times, and 2 times for defensive rating. All that on top of the fact that he is a career 43% shooter, and averaging 23 points per game the last 2 seasons. This guy obviously makes the Thunder a better team.

The real trick though will be keeping him in OKC.

Will he and Russ be a good fit? Can PG handle not being THE guy on the team? Or are we just seeing him make a run at the western conference before bolting to LA next season? The biggest question of them all for me, Will he and Russ both bail out to SOCAL next year? They are both from southern Cali and are both due to become free agents next year. That last bit worries me as a fan.

Now on to what we gave up.

Victor Oladipo and Domantas Sabonis. Both very good and young players that no doubt have upside. Oladipo did not live up to expectations in OKC so I’m not overly upset about losing him. But I really liked Sabonis and I believe he has a very bright future in the league.

My last remaining question is this. What’s your next move Mr. Presti? PG is a huge pick up, but everyone who knows basketball knows it’s not enough to get the ultimate job done. In my opinion I think we need to unload both Kyle Singler and Enes Kanter. Singler is dead weight and getting paid way too much for way too little production, and Kanter is just flat out overpaid. Kanter is a good player no doubt, but not good enough to justify what the Thunder are paying him. It’s time to find a way out of that mess and free up some cap room for the upcoming free agency.

Can Presti finish this puzzle? What’s the final piece?

I’m excited to see, and I’m excited that I’m excited. Because this last season damn near ruined me on the NBA. It was just gross.

-A

Leave a Reply

